Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

The Orchestra Who Came to Tea: Part 1

Co-creating unexpected joy!
2

Happy Saturday and here’s a wee bonus and a 1 minute story from me ahead of next Friday’s newsletter.

Five years ago, a friend alerted me to the fact that Street Orchestra Live, a flashmob orchestra, were performing in the Northeast. Basically, they pop up in unexpected places and surprise people with a concert. Now, the orchestra were en route to Durham city but I shot them a cheeky text asking why they don’t do some more mining villages next time round and was surprised to receive a reply that they’d be on my doorstep in 90 minutes time!

What followed was the most joyous event- England had just won a World Cup quarter final so merry football fans, neighbours and even ponies gathered in the village pub carpark for an hour of absolute magic. This video shows John, a local resident, being invited up to conduct the orchestra. The ENTIRE orchestra piled into my hastily-tidied house for tea and jammy dodgers- it was utterly hilarious and has prompted me to work on a children’s story called ‘The Orchestra Who Came to Tea’(of course!).

I’ve realised how absolutely obsessed I am by these moments of pure creativity and unexpected joy. There is something ridiculously wonderful about the moment someone bursts into song or dance and a whole mob joins them. It makes me wonder what other good things we are capable of when we move as a group, listen to those around us and seek to create something amazing with our individual parts. It makes me wonder what the catalysts might be for co-creating such magic in local areas, without the need for mega resources outside of what we already have handy; things like our ideas, our voices, our bodies.

More of this to come next week but I thought you might enjoy seeing the video in advance and if you have a moment, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE for you to recall and share a wee moment of creative joy you’ve experienced or stumbled across in your life, particularly what it FELT like. I’d love to include some of those next week.

2 Comments
The Light on the Sea
The Light on the Sea
Authors
Gillian Eilidh O'Mara